Congrats Class of 2011!

Gratitude: I knew there would be some weight-loss happening on this yoga adventure of mine, so I packed a measuring tape just to track my progress.  While walking past the bathroom mirror I caught a side view of my body and thought, “Dayum, you lookin’ good girl!”, so I whipped out my measuring tape and…drum roll please… I’ve lost 5 inches around my waist.  Pretty cool!

Today is the day the class of 2011 graduates from the Canadian College of Naturopathic Medicine!  This is a wonderful class, filled with amazing, and talented doctors who I am sure will all be very successful and will help a countless number of people!  It will be strange not seeing them in the halls of CCNM anymore…strange..and sad.  Cheers to you guys from BC!!  I cannot believe I had to miss their graduation today, but they’ve certainly been in my thoughts all day!  Here’s a press release on their graduation!

Yoga: Today we got into pairs and led each other through a 50 minute yoga practice.  Right before coming here, my watch broke.  Now this is weird because I am never without time but I have been completely watch-less for nearly two weeks now.  Very strange.  For the first few days I kept staring at my wrist every few seconds thinking a watch would be there.  So yes, needless to say, I’m not exactly a pro at gaging 50 minutes passing and I’m pretty sure my yoga routine lasted approximately half an hour.  We were sweating pretty hard when it was over.  It was actually a really good workout, but not exactly what we were going for.

Meditation:  I led my partner into a bit of meditation/relaxation while in savasana today.  I walked him through some progressive muscle relaxation techniques and practiced applying a ton of metaphors to tune him into his body and where he holds his tension.  He seemed to enjoy it.  I almost laughed at one point because my meditation voice was starting to sound an awful lot like Phoebe Buffay’s (from the show FRIENDS) during an episode when she helps Monica relax after breaking up with her boyfriend Richard…

PHOEBE: Okay, all right, so, you’re in a meadow, millions of stars in the sky….
MONICA: Do you think breaking up with him was a huge mistake?
PHOEBE: All right, there are no questions in the happy place. Okay, just, the warm breeze, and the moonlight flowing through the trees….
MONICA: I’ll bet he’s totally over me, I’ll bet he’s fine.
PHOEBE: All right, betting and wagering of any kind, are, I’m sure, not permitted in the happy place. Okay. Just, you know, the lovely waterfalls, and the, the trickling fountains. And the-the calming sounds of the babbling brook….
MONICA: Okay, this isn’t working. I’m still awake and now I have to pee.

This scene started running through my mind and hearing Phoebe’s voice saying babbling brook made it hard not to laugh out loud.

Food Awareness: Had my usual smoothie for breakfast this morning.  Added WAY too much protein powder and it got really thick and creamy, which created a texture that made me want to gag each time I drank some.  It wasn’t the most pleasant thing in the world but at least it tasted ok.  I had some left over salmon and sesame stir-fry for lunch, and for dinner I made sweet potato fries which I burned slightly but still devoured, and an Adzuki Bean and Butternut Squash Sautee.  This took way longer to prepare than anticipated, but still quite yummy.

Nature Appreciation: Watched some eagle’s today.  My roommate and I walked to our place after class and saw one land right at the top of a pine tree.  Its weight was starting to tip the tree over quite a bit, yet it continued to stay there, just chilling out.

Leave a Reply

